And the winners are... | Inspiration | Capital Hair & Beauty Skip to main content
Back to Posts

And the winners are...

Hosted by comedian David Walliams, alongside Hairdressers Journal International’s Executive Director, Jayne Lewis-Orr and Stuart Hamid, Schwarzkopf Professional's General Manager, the British Hairdressing Awards were held in the beloved Grosvenor House hotel, London. We were there, amongst a 1,700-strong turnout, to find out who took home the trophies on the night. 

In between Walliams’ slightly corny jokes, the night was a wonderful opportunity to get up close and personal with some of the country’s most talented hairstylists and colourists. Guests were treated to a three-course meal – plus some decadent chocolates and the cutest table gifts featuring trial size versions of Schwarzkopf’s BC Fibre Force range. Once many of the regional winners had been announced, the youngest X Factor winner ever, Louisa Johnson, provided entertainment, singing three songs that got the entire ballroom on its feet. 

On the night, Jayne Lewis-Orr said: “A British Hairdressing Award is the ultimate accolade in hairdressing and we couldn’t be more proud to present them to our winners today. The award demonstrates not only unabashed creativity and supreme technical skill, but also marks you out as one of the greatest hairdressers in the country.”

Here’s the full list of the winners!
Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year:
Julian Dalrymple, The Sitting Room, Ballymena 

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year: 
Nick Malenko and Sophie Beattie, Royston Blythe, Wolverhampton

North Western Hairdresser of the Year: 
Marcello Moccia, Room 97 Creative Hairdressing, Wakefield 

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year: 
Suzie McGill and Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International, Uddingston 

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year:
Joseph Ferraro, Joseph Ferraro, Harrogate

Southern Hairdresser of the Year: 
Anne Veck, Anne Veck Salons, Oxford

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year: 
Steven Smart, Smartest 73, Weston-Super-Mare 

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year: 
Joseph I’Anson and Lisa Graham, Mark Leeson, Mansfield 

London Hairdresser of the Year: 
Luke Benson, D&J Ambrose, Pinner, Middlesex 

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year: 
Indira Schauwecker, TONI & GUY, Covent Garden 

Newcomer of the Year: 
William Lamb, Daniel Granger Hairdressing, Northampton 

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year: 
Terri Kay and Andrea Giles, Mark Leeson, Mansfield 

Afro Hairdresser of the Year: 
Robert Eaton and Karla Ancliff-Smith, Russell Eaton, Leeds 

Artistic Team of the Year: 
Angelo Vallillo Academy, Nottingham 

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year: 
Robert Eaton, Russell Eaton, Leeds 

British Hairdresser of the Year: 
Angelo Seminara

A final thank you to Schwarzkopf Professional and Louise Wood and the rest of the team at LWPR for the invitation.

All imagery: